Australian Men’s and Women’s Prime Minister’s XIII named as Hynes earns rep recall

The ARLC and Prime Minister Anthony Albanese have announced the Australian Men’s and Women’s Prime Minister’s XIII ahead of games against the PNG Prime Minister’s XIII.

Eight players from last year’s Kangaroos squad that won the World Cup will feature, including Nicho Hynes in his first representative call-up since he was dropped by NSW after the Origin series opener.

Tino Fa’asuamaleaui, Josh Addo-Carr, Cody Walker, Cameron Murray and Ben Hunt will also feature in the clash which coach Mal Meninga said would serve as selection guide.

Watch every game of The 2023 NRL Telstra Finals Series before the Grand Final Live & Ad-Break Free During Play on Kayo Sports. Join now and start streaming instantly >

“This squad is a blend of experience from the World Cup last year, additional State of Origin players from this year, as well as younger players who we would like to see at this level,” Meninga said in a statement.

“There was fairly unanimous agreement across the selections and I can’t wait to see this group test themselves in the green and gold.”

Meanwhile, the women’s team has been selected “with a view to giving some of the best up and coming players in the NRLW an opportunity”.

“Being Prime Minister is a great honour. I enjoy every part of the job, but a fun part is getting to pick the PM’s XIII sides,” Prime Minister Albanese said.

“These contests represent far more than just a couple of games of footy. Papua New Guinea and Australia are the closest of neighbours and we are the best of friends.

Get all the latest NRL news, highlights and analysis delivered straight to your inbox with Fox Sports Sportmail. Sign up now!!

“We are working together to build a more prosperous, stable and peaceful region. Rugby League is an opportunity to celebrate our friendship and strengthen our partnership.

“I am really looking forward to Cam and Tallisha leading out their teams in Port Moresby, and know the contest will be great for the game, a thrill for all the players selected and another important step forward for our region.”

The 2023 Australian Men’s Prime Minister’s XIII is as follows (alphabetical order):

Josh Addo-Carr — Bulldogs

Daly Cherry-Evans (VC) — Sea Eagles

Reuben Cotter — Cowboys

Tom Dearden — Cowboys

Tino Fa’asuamaleaui — Titans

Emre Guler — Raiders

Ben Hunt — Dragons

Nicho Hynes — Sharks

Alofiana Khan-Pereira — Titans

Zac Lomax — Dragons

Cameron McInnes — Sharks

Cameron Murray © — Rabbitohs

Reece Robson — Cowboys

Tyrell Sloan — Dragons

Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow — Dolphins

Murray Taulagi — Cowboys

Jake Trbojevic — Sea Eagles

Cody Walker — Rabbitohs

Hudson Young — Raiders


‘ORDINARY TACKLE?’: Debate rages over Gamble’s role in Wighton’s bite ban

JUDICIARY: Wighton hit with three game ban after being found guilty of biting Gamble

TEAMS ANALYSIS: Warriors’ big Johnson boost as Storm favourite recalled

‘OUTSTANDING’: Witness sets record straight on Latrell after claims of photo snub

The 2023 Australian Women’s Prime Minister’s XIII is as follows (alphabetical order):

Teagan Berry — Dragons

Kennedy Cherrington (VC) — Eels

Rueben Cherrington — Eels

Abbi Church — Eels

Keisha-Leigh Coolwell — Broncos

Quincy Dodd — Sharks

Kayla Fleming — First Nations Gems

Tallisha Harden © — Cowboys

Kimberley Hunt — Eels

Emma Manzelmann — Cowboys

Jasmin Morrissey — First Nations Gems

Rachael Pearson — Eels

Christian Pio — Tigers

China Polata — Cowboys

Tiana Raftstrand-Smith — Cowboys

Taneka Todhunter — Eels

Cassey Tohi-Hiku — Eels

Botille Vette-Welsh — Tigers

Jakiya Whitfeld — Tigers

Janelle Williams — Raiders

Similar Posts